Niemi, White among those to file for NHL arbitration



TORONTO — The Stanley Cup champion Chicago Blackhawks figured prominently in the list of 31 National Hockey League players who filed for salary arbitration on Monday.

Blackhawks goaltending hero Antti Niemi was among the arbitration filers, looking for a substantial raise from the $827,000 US he made last year. He’s likely in line for close to a $3 million raise after replacing No. 1 goalie Cristobal Huet and backstopping the Hawks to their first Stanley Cup title in 49 years.

Others filing included Calgary Flames defenceman Ian White, in line for a raise from his $950,000 US salary thanks to solid numbers last season — an average of 20:42 of ice time and 38 points in 83 games with the Flames and the Toronto Maple Leafs. Vancouver Canucks forward Mason Raymond, who scored 25 goals and added 28 assists while earning only $760,000 a year ago, can also expect a major boost.

Among the other Canadian teams, filers include Edmonton Oilers forward Gilbert Brule, goaltender Jeff Drouin-DesLauriers and forward Jean-Francois Jacques; Ottawa Senators defenceman Chris Campoli and forward Peter Regin; and Canucks forwards Tanner Glass and Jannik Hansen.

The NHL and the NHL Players’ Association are expected to determine the hearing dates on Tuesday, with the cases scheduled to be heard July 20-Aug. 5 in Toronto. Players are still eligible to sign or agree to a new deal with their current teams right up until the arbitrator’s ruling. If teams are not satisfied with the contract the arbitrator dictates, they have the right to walk away from the contract, which makes the player an unrestricted free agent.

The 31 NHL players who Monday filed for salary arbitration:

Anaheim Ducks

James Wisniewski

Atlanta Thrashers

Ben Eager

Andrew Ladd

Clarke MacArthur

Boston Bruins

Greg Campbell

Blake Wheeler

Buffalo Sabres

Tim Kennedy

Calgary Flames

Ian White

Chicago Blackhawks

Antti Niemi

Columbus Blue Jackets

Jared Boll

Anton Stralman

Dallas Stars

Fabian Brunnstrom

Detroit Red Wings

Derek Meech

Edmonton Oilers

Gilbert Brule

Jeff Drouin-DesLauriers

Jean-Francois Jacques

Los Angeles Kings

Brad Richardson

New Jersey Devils

Mark Fraser

New York Islanders

Matt Moulson

New York Rangers

Daniel Girardi

Ottawa Senators

Chris Campoli

Peter Regin

Philadelphia Flyers

Daniel Carcillo

St. Louis Blues

Cam Janssen

Tampa Bay Lightning

Nate Thompson

Vancouver Canucks

Tanner Glass

Jannik Hansen

Mason Raymond

Washington Capitals

Eric Fehr

Tomas Fleischmann

Jeff Schultz

Source: NHLPA

Your voice